Activity Holidays    Advertise Here    Login    Links    Contact Us    Site Map


Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Making life a holiday with interesting vacation and adventure ideas.

Tales from here and there about this and that.

Saturday, June 09, 2007

Seven Wonders of the Modern World 

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were all man-made monuments, selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C. and only the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt have survived. Now, Zurich based New 7Wonders organization, founded by Bernard Weber, seeks to define Seven Wonders of the Modern World selected by the people's choice. There is still the opportunity to vote, online, by telephone or text and the results will be announced in 27 days time.

In alphabetical order, the 21 finalists are:

  • Acropolis, Athens, Greece

  • Alhambra, Granada, Spain

  • Angkor, Cambodia

  • The Pyramid at Chichén Itzá, Mexico

  • Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Colosseum, Rome, Italy

  • Easter Island Statues, Chile

  • Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

  • Great Wall, China

  • Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey

  • Kiyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

  • Kremlin/St. Basil, Moscow, Russia

  • Machu Picchu, Peru

  • Neuschwanstein Castle, Schwangau, Germany

  • Petra, Jordan

  • Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

  • Statue of Liberty, New York, USA

  • Stonehenge, United Kingdom

  • Sydney Opera House, Australia

  • Taj Mahal, Agra, India

  • Timbuktu, Mali


Share on Facebook



Post a Comment

Powered by FeedBlitz
Remember, you must register with them (it's free) in order to receive emails.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Add to Technorati Favorites