Activity Holidays    Advertise Here    Login    Links    Contact Us    Site Map


Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Making life a holiday with interesting vacation and adventure ideas.

Tales from here and there about this and that.

Wednesday, March 21, 2007

Passport-free travel in Europe 

Hungary is expected to join the EU's passport-free travel area (Schengen area) on January 1, 2008, which allows for passport-free travel between participating countries.

There is usually a passport or ID check for air travel inside the Schengen area, but not for surface travel and a common visa is available for nationals from non-participating countries wishing to travel to the area.

Currently 15 countries have implemented the agreement, including non-EU members Iceland, Norway and Switzerland, and a further 15 countries are signatories. Eight of the other signatories are also likely to join with Hungary, leaving the United Kingdom and Ireland as the only two EU members not to fully implement the Schengen Agreement.

Labels: , , ,

Share on Facebook



Post a Comment

Powered by FeedBlitz
Remember, you must register with them (it's free) in order to receive emails.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Add to Technorati Favorites