Activity Holidays    Advertise Here    Login    Links    Contact Us    Site Map


Subscribe in NewsGator Online

Making life a holiday with interesting vacation and adventure ideas.

Tales from here and there about this and that.

Monday, October 24, 2005

World Sailor of the Year 2005 

The ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2005 are due to take place on Tuesday 8 November at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel during the ISAF Annual Conference in Singapore.

Launched in 1994, the awards are recognised as the pinnacle award a sailor can receive in recognition of their outstanding achievements in the world of sailing.

Four female and seven male sailors make up this year's shortlist, including the fastest single-handed circumnavigation record holder, Ellen MacArthur and double world speed record holder and European Slalom champion, Finian Maynard. France holds the honours for the largest number of crews in the shortlist, Claire Leroy, Bruno Peyron and Vincent Riou.

The complete list is:

Claire Leroy (FRA)
Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
Blanca Manchón (ESP)
Paige Railey (USA)

Fernando Echavarri and Antón Paz (ESP)
Peter Gilmour (AUS)
Finian Maynard (IVB)
Bruno Peyron (FRA)
Vincent Riou (FRA)
Rohan Veal (AUS)

Share on Facebook



Post a Comment

Powered by FeedBlitz
Remember, you must register with them (it's free) in order to receive emails.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Add to Technorati Favorites